What is Modesty? Part 1

Hey Everybody,

As a teenager, I always get told to dress modestly, I have been in church ever since I was born, so I have heard a wide variety of what people think modesty is. Today we live in a culture where dressing modestly is taught as something that we should do, but at the same time, it’s looked down upon.
I decided to take it into my own hands to do some research and see what some people’s idea of modesty is. To start off, I went to google and looked up the definition of modest and I got this “unassuming or moderate in the estimation of one’s abilities or achievements.” It is basically to be unshowy, unflashy, and humble in your life.
After that I went to the bible to say what it says about modesty, and I came upon 1 Timothy 2:9-10 and it says ” I also want the women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, adorning themselves, not with elaborate hairstyles or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God.” Also in 1 Peter 3:3-4 it says “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” The bible never really gives us a dress code for modesty, it just says not to let our outward appearance be the thing that we want to be praised for but our hearts and personality.
Something I hear a lot and I bet a lot of other people have to if you have grown up in a church is “Don’t dress in a way that will lead the guys around you to sin” here is the thing about that, are you ready? Girls can’t control, the actions and thoughts of guys.
I went and I asked four of my friends to answer a few questions about their opinion on modesty

Julia:
What is modesty to you?
Modesty by definition is a noun meaning “the quality or state of being unassuming or moderate in the estimation of one’s abilities” but modesty to me is not bringing attention to yourself in a negative way, with your body or attitude.
Can dressing modestly be cute and in style?
Yes the saying “modest is hottest” isn’t just there for fun.
Why should girls dress modestly?
We should dress Modestly because people can take our immodest clothing as an invitation to things that are not appropriate or right.
Are there any areas where you would want to change what is or isn’t modest?
I feel like showing our shoulders isn’t immodest, but showing too much cleavage can be. Labeling girls as inappropriate or immodest can make them want to wear clothes that show more skin. Skin is an organ and it’s there for a reason, some parts of our skin shouldn’t be shown, but hiding our collarbones and shoulders can be a little much.
Emma:
What is modesty to you?
Being modest, to me, means you don’t draw attention to your body, your clothes can be cute, but the shape, cut, and tightness shouldn’t be made to show off your body. This means no stomach, butt or chest showing. Shortish shorts are okay as long as they are long enough to cover your butt, and you aren’t wearing them to draw attention to yourself.
Can dressing modestly be cute and in style?
Modesty is definitely hard to dress, especially in today’s culture, but I think it’s possible. It can most definitely be cute. Honestly, I think outfits can be more cute if modest.
Claudia:
What is modesty to you?
To me modesty is respect.
Respect for your body and the people around you.
Can dressing modestly be cute and in style?
YES!! There are so many fun and cute ways to dress modestly, being stylish doesn’t have to mean booty shorts and crop tops.
Why should girls dress modestly?
Girls should dress modestly to respect their own bodies. Also because it can stumble other people, why would you want someone looking at you in a way that only your husband should look at you?
Are there any areas where you would want to change what is or isn’t modest?
I would want to change how people think about modesty, being covered up doesn’t have to mean turtleneck and ugly loose jeans everywhere you go, dress how you feel wouldn’t be distracting to others.
Jack:
What is modesty to you?
Modesty to me is being proper and not showing to much of something
Is modesty applied to guys or girls or both?
Its applied to both sexes I believe
Is it attractive when a girl dresses modestly?
yes, I think it is attractive when girls dress modestly

Thank you for reading, don’t forget to share this post and my blog with people you know
Xoxo,
S

Leave a Reply

